Tags

,

Birds of the air, Swanwick by TheRevSteve
Birds of the air, Swanwick, a photo by TheRevSteve on Flickr.

From the New Testament reading at Morning Prayer:
Jesus said ‘Therefore I tell you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat or what you will drink, or about your body, what you will wear. Is not life more than food, and the body more than clothing? Look at the birds of the air; they neither sow nor reap nor gather into barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not of more value than they?’
(Matthew’s Gospel, chapter 6, verses 25-26, NRSV)

I feel decidedly ambivalent about this teaching. I think I know what Jesus was getting at, but people _do_ starve to death, and knowing that I’m more valuable than a bird is not always a great comfort!

This window is in St. Andrew’s church, Swanwick, Derbyshire.

