Tags

Second week of my 52 weeks – 52 new things challenge, and I managed to go somewhere I’d never been before. My wife visited Brighton a few weeks ago to see a friend, and liked it so much she took me for a couple of days at half-term.

I was very impressed as well! It is quite the opposite of a clone-town – very international, lots of unique shops, unashamedly what it is, in a like-it-or-lump-it sort of way. Gullivers Hotel was suitable comfortable and reasonably priced (and the room really did have a sea view); the pier was suitably tacky; the beer in the Royal Oak suitably drinkable (and the staff friendly and helpful); the food in the Sopar Thai Restaurant very edible indeed; and the way the Brighton Bead Shop offers waiting partners a free cup of tea in the Dumb Waiter across the road surely a model for shops everywhere!

