Tags

(Catching up – still not sufficiently downwind of Christmas)

In week 10 of my 52 weeks – 52 new things challenge I watched The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel (http://www.imdb.com/title/tt1412386/)

It was a Christmas present on DVD, so when the family jamboree had gone home, we remaining few sat down to watch it.

Here’s a confession: I’m nervous about watching films. I think it’s about not being able to control the pace in case something disturbing comes up. With a book, I can put it down, but with a film, especially at the cinema, it’s in with both feet.

Still, my wife had seen it before and really enjoyed it, so I was encouraged.

I did enjoy it! It was fun, superbly acted, and undisturbing. Probably it’s the last item which paradoxically disturbs me. The film flirts with issues like homophobia, racism, caste discrimination, love lost and found, relationship breakup, loneliness, old-age and death, but never quite gets to kiss any of them. The deus comes out of the machina to fix problems a bit too often, and the loose ends are tied in a way which shuts down questions rather than resolving them.

Still, there’s talk of a sequel…

 

