I was looking for a song to go with Romans 8:1-17, but also to be sung on Trinity Sunday (the service in question is off-Lectionary). Verse 15 brought to mind Dave Bilbrough’s Abba, Father, but it wasn’t terribly trinitarian, so I put together some more verses. Here’s what I came up with…

Abba, Father, let me be
Yours and yours alone.
May my will forever be
Ever more your own.
Never let my heart grow cold,
Never let me go.
Abba Father, let me be
Yours and yours alone.

Jesus, risen from the dead
Master, saviour, Lord;
Son, Messiah, living bread,
Everlasting word.
Never let my heart grow cold,
Never let me go.
Jesus, risen from the dead
Master, saviour, Lord;

Holy Spirit, fall on me,
Fill my life with love.
In my weakness, pray for me
At the throne above.
Never let my heart grow cold,
Never let me go.
Holy Spirit, fall on me,
Fill my life with love.

God Almighty, three in one,
Hallowed be your name
Holy Spirit, Father, Son,
Evermore the same.
Never let my heart grow cold,
Never let me go.
God Almighty, three in one,
Hallowed be your name.

Verse 1 Dave Bilbrough. Copyright © 1977 Kingsway’s Thankyou Music.

Other verses, Revd. Stephen Day, 2013, and released under Creative Commons licence: Attribution, Non-Commercial, Share-alike

If you wish to use this in any way not supported by  this licence, please contact the author.

